Drawings Back Home

It’s complicated how Ivor and I are related, but never having known my natural grandparents, let’s just say he’s the only grandfather I’ve ever known.  Over the years and circumstances, we’ve exchanged Christmas cards and only talked occasionally.  And now he’s moved from the area.

But he called me recently to tell me about his  move and asked me if I’d like to have the drawings I did for him and his wife some 35 and 25 years ago.  They are original pen & ink drawings from a different era.  Of course if he couldn’t take them with him, I would love to bring them home.

Ivor, take care and enjoy your new digs. 

I look at these drawings today and they are not much different from my work now.  I guess you are who you are whoever, where ever and whenever you are.

10 thoughts on “Drawings Back Home

  1. Donna – What a beautiful glimpse at the earler artist and you are so right! The love of animals, the way you always want to tell the story, and the way you frame the goings-on, all very much you.
    How sweet of Ivor to think to do that for you, and what a treasure that photo of the two of you is! -D.

  2. For some reason, this story really brought tears to my eyes. Your first drawing reminds me (the rocks) of the one you did for my birthday in 1976.

    You are an amazing artist and I feel privileged to have several of your pieces!!

  3. I was so thrilled when I opened your e-mail and found “Drawings Back Home”. What a lovely part of your life to share and how very lucky I feel that you shared it with me. I’m so glad you’re my cousin!
    Donna Z

Leave a Reply

