Watercolor Cover Project – Green Valley Library

Green Valley Library in Henderson, Nevada is hosting an art show featuring the 125 books High School student must read.  I drew a number out of a virtual hat and selected the book, “Things Fall Apart” by Chinua Achebe.  A book I had never read, or even heard of.  I downloaded the unabridged audio version and listened two times through.

Okonkwo is a man who is pulled in many directions his entire life.  He is a traditional man in all areas of living, but unbalanced in many ways.  But when missionairies come to the clan, he faces his biggest challenge.

This is not an overly exciting story, but I found it very intriguing and a gripping story of life in a pre 1900’s African clan.

7 thoughts on “Watercolor Cover Project – Green Valley Library

  1. Since I think in images and love to read, I totally love this project and the images the book conjured for you. You did a magnificent job!! I’ve not heard of this book and didn’t have to read this one in high school…

    • Thank you for your comment. It was a challenge as the book does not end well for Okonkwo. But I learned alot and had fun researching African images. Funny how trying to illustrate something you have no idea about, wraps you up and takes hold until it’s complete. The story is now burned on my brain and that’s a good thing.

  2. I remember reading that book many years ago & though the details of the story are a little blurry for me now, I do think you captured that spirit of entropy & uncertainty beautifully here!

Leave a Reply

