Trying New Media

Always experimenting, I used the opportunity of adding new portfolio pieces to try some new media.

White Prismacolor Pencil on Black Strathmore Paper.


Pastel Pencil on Canson M1 Tientes Paper

Two things I learned.  White on blackk paper makes me think in reverse.  Instead of thinking of shadows, I need to think of highlights, which is quite a shift.  And, I’ve always had an aversion to pastels because I can’t stand touching chalk.  But pastel pencils take a bit of that away, enough to make it really fun to use the great saturated colors.

7 thoughts on “Trying New Media

  1. Gorgeous work. It’s not an easy thing to flip over to the “negative” view, but you’ve done a stunning job. You also manage to convey a whole story with your picture, even if we don’t actually know what it is. And as always, your great love of animals shines bright!

  2. LI’L SIS, YOUR BEST WORK YET!! YOU GOT ALL THE TALENT IN THE FAMILY. NOT FAIR!!! I’M JUST KIDDING, I LOVE THE FACT THAT YOUR SO TALENTED AND I’M VERY PROUD OF YOU!! SORRY IT TOOK ME SO LONG TO RESPOND. I LOVE YOU AS ALWAYS. BIG SIS

Leave a comment